1 minute

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) Mutuals Register contains a list of mutual societies registered by the FCA. It has information for societies currently registered, and those no longer registered. The types of mutual society registered include:

  • Registered societies, including:
    • Co-operative societies; and
    • Community benefit societies
  • Credit unions
  • Building societies
  • Friendly societies

The FCA along with the PRA is responsible for the regulation of these societies. To aid in the regulation they will add suffixes and prefixes to help in the categorisation. A full list of these is available below.