1 minute

Local Authorities are responsible for a range of vital services for people and businesses in defined areas. These include social care, schools, housing and planning and waste collection, but also lesser known ones such as licensing, business support, registrar services and pest control.

Currently there are:

  • 25 county councils
  • 188 district, borough or city councils
  • 57 unitary councils
  • 33 London boroughs
  • 36 metropolitan boroughs

Find out more about How Local Councils are Organised and Funded